spreads (26).gif

New water refill stations announced

Five more water refill stations will soon be installed in Eurobodalla to encourage residents and visitors to choose tap water over bottled water.

The stations will be installed at Batemans Bay’s Korners Park, Broulee surf club, Narooma’s Quota Park, Dalmeny campground and the Tuross Head café precinct.

They will feature artwork and imagery from Council’s recent Art20 competition, which focussed on the value and need to preserve drinking water and protect the environment.

The competition was run as part of last month’s River of Art. The winners were Carmel Cox in the $1000 Open 2D category for her imaginative triptych ‘Every Precious Drop’ and Lachlan Callender’s photograph ‘Blue Water’ in the $1000 open photography category.

Tilly Shorter took out the $100 prize for the under 12s photography with her photograph of Diamond Creek, while Warren Lurie’s ‘Water Dog’ won the people’s choice award.

Council’s Divisional Manager Environmental Services Deb Lenson said there were so many different interpretations of how important water was, it would have been very difficult to have been a judge.

“Some people took a very strong environmental-protection stance, focussing on pollution and litter, others looked at the animals that rely on water for their survival and some drilled right down to the scarcity of fresh drinking water and the need to preserve it at all costs,” she said.

“A lot of the works from the competition will end up being used by Council, not only on the water refill stations but also in publications and education material.”

Council held a similar competition in 2013, ‘Tap Water Please’, to decorate Eurobodalla’s first eight water refill stations at Batemans Bay, Batehaven, Malua Bay, Broulee, Moruya, Tuross Head, North Narooma and Narooma.

A further six refill stations are also earmarked to be installed at Narooma’s NATA Oval, Moruya surf club, Maloneys Beach east, Long Beach east, Kianga picnic area, and Tuross Head shops precinct.

Media Release

Above: (click for larger image and slideshow):

  • Lachlan Callender’s photograph ‘Blue Water’ won the open photography category.

  • Carmel Cox’s triptych ‘Every Precious Drop’ won the open 2D category.

  • Tilly Shorter’s photograph of Diamond Creek won the under 12 photography.

  • Warren Lurie won the people’s choice with ‘Water Dog’.

#Community #latest #Tuross #BatemansBay #Broulee #Dalmeny #Council #LocalStateFederal #Weekly

COMMENTS : Due to the risks associated with comments from unidentified contributors that expose The Beagle to possible legal actions under the NSW Defamation Act 2005 No 77 anonymous or Nom de Plume comments will not be available unless the author is known to the editor by way of a verified email address or by association.

Others who provide their REAL NAME (first name AND Surname) and a verifiable email address (it won't be published) are invited to comment below. (yes it is a pain but please comply - it would be a  shame to see your comment deleted)

Those contributors KNOWN to us and verified may continue to use their First Name or Nom de plume for ease. The primary need for all of this is due to traceability should a legal action arise.

If you need anonymity email us via our normal or encrypted email accounts

Please note that if you are looking for a previous comment that is no longer visible please contact us.