top of page
Screenshot 2023-06-13 180949.png
  • Writer's pictureThe Beagle

Tuross highway intersection under scrutiny Jan 12th

It is hoped that the on-site safety audit with RMS, the Eurobodalla Shire Council and THPA representatives at the T intersection of Hector McWilliam Drive and the Princes Highway at Tuross Head on 12th January, 2017 will eventually lead to a major safety upgrade before there is a fatal accident at this dangerous heavily used intersection. It is intended to be reiterated that the age demographic, being 52% of the population being over 50 years of age, is well above the Shire or State average. One of the primary discussion points around the safety aspects of this intersection is the fact that the geometry of the intersection with lines of sight and approach speeds sits at the minimum requirements demanding a greater care to be taken with timing.

To assist in the community discussion and possibly assist with the determinations of the on-site meeting the Tuross Head Progress Association has drafted a diagram of the suggested road traffic flow at the T Intersection.

Above: a larger diagram is on display in the THPA notice board next to the Tuross Post Office

The THPA suggested solution is aimed at being the most cost effective option as road funding for black spots is hard to come by, although the Federal Member for Gilmore, The Hon Ann Sudmalis MP and Chair of the NSW Black Spot Program, has personally taken up the challenge and has launched an on the ground and an on-line petition to gain support for her to make a case for Federal finding to upgrade the T Intersection of the Princes Highway and Hector McWilliam Drive.

The on-site safety audit will be conducted at a specified time as announced by the RMS but this timing is under embargo from public dissemination. This meeting is restricted to the Manager RMS Road Network Safety from HQ RMS Wollongong (Nathan Boscaro), The Chair of the Eurobodalla Road Safety & Traffic Committee (Deputy Mayor Anthony Mayne), the ESC Director of Infrastructure Services (Warren Sharpe OAM), two members of the THPA executive committee (John Tilbrook & Gary Cooper) and a representative from the Office of the Member for Gilmore nominated by Ann Sudmalis MP.

NOTE: Comments were TRIALED - in the end it failed as humans will be humans and it turned into a pile of merde; only contributed to by just a handful who did little to add to the conversation of the issue at hand. Anyone who would like to contribute an opinion are encouraged to send in a Letter to the Editor where it might be considered for publication

bottom of page