spreads (14).gif

Far South Coast Branch of Surf Life Saving 2020 Awards of Excellence announced

The Far South Coast Branch of Surf Life Saving branch congratulates all the nominees and winners listed below in the 2020 Awards of Excellence after what was a very challenging season with bushfires, and COVID-19. ***Services Team of the Year: AWARDED TO:

Batemans Bay SLSC – Anthony Bellette, Kate Fetterplace, Pete Fetterplace, Ali Ryan, Jess Guthrie, Tayla Wallace, Karen Wallace, Lexus Knight

The team at Batemans Bay SLSC stepped up in a big way to assist their community during the New Year’s Eve bushfire emergency. With Malua Bay cut off and under direct threat the team sheltered people, provided food and first aid support to over 1,500 people. The clubhouse continued to be used as a community hub for the next 10 days.

Broulee Surfers SLSC – Andrew Edmunds, Stan Wall, Natalie Browning, John Edmunds, Steve Moore, Ollie Sumner-Potts, Keegan Spellacy, Jackson Maloney, Dave Hogden, Jeff Dunne, Claire Forbes, Ted Pettigrove, Gab Smith, Rob Wildman, Skye Wildman, Matt Hammond, Michael Chew, Arusha Chew, Sierra Chew, Helen O’Dell, Jason Domeny and Julianne Domeny

When the New Year’s Eve bushfire hit the town of Broulee, members of the surf club joined police and lifeguards in helping to keep their community members safe. They drove the streets and door- knocked to evacuate residents and provided first aid and other support to the 1,000 plus people who took to the beach at Broulee for safety.

Pambula SLSC – Andrew Love, Christopher Love, Miep Krechting, Miep, Andrew and Christopher embody the volunteer ethos of serving their community. Their nomination by Pambula SLSC recognises their contributions not only to surf life saving but for also giving their time and expertise to the NSW Rural Fire Service as volunteers. In an extraordinary

season, Pambula applauds the efforts these three have made in volunteering for not one, but two, emergency service organisations.

***Myril Bunt – Administrator of the Year AWARDED TO: Marcela Vitochova – Pambula

About Marcela and her roles and achievements:

 Club Director of Member Administration

 Streamlined the club registration process

 Serves as a Patroller

 Assists with Nippers

Helen Smith – Batemans Bay

About Helen and her roles and achievements:

 Club Secretary

 Always has a positive attitude

 Serves as a Patroller

 Assists with Nippers

Lynda McKay- Broulee Surfers

About Lynda and her roles and achievements:

 Club Treasurer

 Life Member

 Member of the Building Subcommittee and helped secure almost $1million in funding

 Serves as a Patroller

 Assisted with Bushfire Response

Maureen Croft – Bermagui

About Maureen and her roles and achievements:

 Club Treasurer

 Streamlined the approach to Club finances

 Bar volunteer at functions

 Assisted with Bushfire Response

 Volunteered on behalf of Surf Club for 2 community functions in the fire ravaged town of


*** Coach of the Year: AWARDED TO: Rob Pollock – Broulee Surfers

About Rob and his roles and achievements:

 Crew is comprised of members from Broulee and Pambula clubs

 Won Open Women at Interbranch

 Brought new members/crew to Broulee SLSC

 Assisted with the bushfire response and a first aid emergency during the George bass