fiona xmas.png
spreads (8).gif

Eurobodalla and “buddies” win collaboration award

Eurobodalla, Bega Valley, Shoalhaven, Wingecarribee, and Kiama councils have taken out a joint award at the inaugural Cities Power Partnership Summit at Kiama earlier this month.

The Knowledge Sharing Award, accepted by staff from each council, recognised the ‘Buddy Group’ that these five south-east NSW councils have formed to collaborate on environmental projects.

Since its inception in early 2018, the South East NSW Buddies Group has met three times to explore possible joint projects, such as the south-east electric highway proposal.

The group also shares knowledge to assist one another’s environment and energy projects, including Eurobodalla Council’s Emissions Reduction Plan and Wingecarribee Council’s Revolving Energy Fund.

Eurobodalla Council’s Sustainability Coordinator Mark Shorter said the neighbouring locations of the five local government areas meant they often faced similar concerns when it came to the environment.

“By working together, we are able to maximise our knowledge from nearby councils, and learn from one another as we work through barriers and possible solutions,” he said.

“By interacting more freely with colleagues in the wider south-east NSW region, we are able to work together on larger projects with greater efficiency.

“Being recognised with a Cities Power Partnership award for our collaborative approach is just the cherry on top,” Mr Shorter said.

The summit awards were hosted by the Climate Council and recognised outstanding initiatives undertaken by local councils across Australia to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and demonstrate climate mitigation action.

Eurobodalla Council was also shortlisted as a finalist for the Energy Efficiency Achievement Award, in recognition of its Emissions Reduction Plan.

Above: Eurobodalla Council and its “buddies group” of councils - Bega Valley, Shoalhaven, Wingecarribee and Kiama councils – won a joint award at the inaugural Cities Power Partnership Summit at Kiama this month. Pictured is Climate Councillor Professor Karen Hussey, Kiama Council’s Paul Czulowski, Eurobodalla Council’s Sustainability Coordinator Mark Shorter, Wingecaribbe Council’s Therese Smart, Bega Valley Council’s Daniel Murphy and Shoalhaven City Council’s Darren O’Connell.

#Community #Paper #Weekly #Council #LocalStateFederal

COMMENTS : Due to the risks associated with comments from unidentified contributors that expose The Beagle to possible legal actions under the NSW Defamation Act 2005 No 77 anonymous or Nom de Plume comments will not be available until an alternate system of author verification can be investigated and hopefully installed.

Those who provide their REAL NAME (first name AND Surname) and a verifiable email address (it won't be published) are invited to comment below. (yes it is a pain but please comply - it would be a  shame to see your comment deleted)

Those contributors KNOWN to us and verified may continue to use their First Name for ease. The primary need for all of this is due to traceability should a legal action arise.

If you need anonymity email us via our normal or encrypted email accounts

Please note that if you are looking for a previous comment that is no longer visible please contact us.