2022 0415 Beagle Dispaly Banner - Emergency Services Precinct.png

Women’s Wall unveiled in Labor Caucus Room at Parliament House

On Tuesday night Member of Eden Monaro, Kristy McBain attended the unveiling of the Women’s Wall in the Labor Caucus Room at Parliament House.

Of the unveiling Ms McBain said "The wall recognises the contribution that nine Labor women have made not only to the Labor party but to our nation.

"Dorothy Tangney, Joan Child, Susan Ryan, Ros Kelly, Jenny Macklin, Julia Gillard, Penny Wong, Nova Peris and Linda Burney.

"All firsts in Australian history and all women that I look up to.

"As the first woman elected to the seat of Eden-Monaro in its 120 year history, I'm honoured to be a part of a movement that recognises the achievements of these incredible women."

Leader of the Labor Party, Anthony Albanese, tweeted after the unveiling "For a long time, the Labor Caucus Room only featured pictures of the leaders of our party. It merely told part of Labor’s history – a history, with one exception, is a very male history.