Tuross Head Men’s Bowls news

Lakeside Triples

Tuross Head Men’s Bowling Club has staged another successful Lakeside Triples with 24 teams competing for over $4,000 in prizemoney over two days. Teams travelled from Sydney, ACT, Bega, Wollongong and from the nearby clubs with the visiting teams filling all six of the placegetters.

In a very tight competition none of the sides were able to go through the rounds undefeated! In the end the final placings were determined by a one shot result between the two sides that finished first and second. The team of Phil Matthews and Thelma and Dave Roberts from Towradji edged out Dave Johnson, Dave Carter (Moruya) and Jason Hossack (Bodalla). Both sides won six games with Hossack’s only loss being a one shot defeat by the Towradji side. Roberts recovered from a first round loss to end with six wins and a margin of plus 33.

Above; Lyton Riddell, Hedley Lucas and Tony Sturt - 3rd in Lakeside Triples

Above:Jason Hossack, Dave Johnson and Dave Carter 2nd in Lakeside Triples Hossack’s side also had six wins but their margin was plus 24. It is the second year in a row that they have finished agonisingly close in second place!

The sides that finished third, fourth and fifth all won 5 games had one draw and one loss. Again they were separated by their ‘shots margin’. The Bega side of Hedley Lucas, Tony Sturt and Lynton Riddell finished third with 11 points plus 16. Jay Breust ( Malua Bay) teamed with Weston Creek’s Ian Whybrow and Bruce Wall to finish 4th with 11 points plus 9.

The Tuggeranong side of Sean Allen, Michael Corby and Dale Budnick stummblled at the last hurdle losing their last game and were relegated from leader to fifth with 11 points and plus 8!!!

Above: Jay Breust, Ian Whybrow and Bruce Wall 4th in Lakeside Triples

The final prize money winners were last year’s champions Keith Pickett (Narooma), Jeff Rankin (Moruya) and Mollymook’s Nick King. They were the best of the 5 game winners with 10 points and plus 23.

Above: Phil Matthews, Thelma Roberts and Dave Roberts Winners of 2019 Lakeside Triples

Minor Singles

At the club level play has started in the minor singles. Michael Challice and Mick Atkinson played a very close game until the scores reached 19 all. Challice then scored 12 shots in the next five ends to win 31 – 19.

In an even closer affair Lawrie Riley and Julian Penny needed 39 ends to decide their match! Riley dominated the early part of the game and had set up a 16 – 6 lead before Penny staged a great fightback. After 28 ends Penny grabbed the lead for the first time at 22 – 21. He then edged ahead 27 – 25 before Riley regained the lead with four shots. He was able to hold this position to win 31 – 28!

COMMENTS : You can use a pen name or better yet use your real name, you must provide a valid email address (that does not get published) and your comment will be moderated prior to approval (or rejection if that is the determination of the moderator). Refer to our Terms and Conditions if you have any questions) 

Please note that from time to time comments are archived. If you are looking for a previous comment no longer visible please contact us. Last Archived 7th July 2019