AD (1).png

Tuross Head golfers enjoy relaxed golf rules

The monthly medal stroke format of golf has been reinstated at Tuross Head.

This popular monthly and annual medal competition was played by club golfers this week and despite extreme windy conditions the format was a welcome return to some degree of normality.

Played over three grades the winner of A division was John Phyland with a score of 66 nett strokes. Ken Brown was a close second with 67 strokes and Paul Scholze third with 70.

Frank Pomfret was the best of the B grade division with 68 strokes, Wayne Fullerton scored 71 strokes followed by Peter Hogan with 72.

Derek Hoare won C division with 69 ahead of Greg Ware 72 and Paul Israel with 76 strokes.

Nearest the pins were won by Rodger Chappel on the 4th hole with a close 1.35 m.

John Phyland won the 6th hole with 8.20 m and Steve Walker the 7th with 5.80 m.

Thursday’s medley stableford competition was won by Graham Moore with 41 strokes ahead of Desmon Jackson and Joel Hilliard who both scored 38 points.

Neil Mather and David Schmid had cards of 38 points.

Tuross Head Country Club golf course