top of page
Screenshot 2023-06-13 180949.png
  • Writer's pictureThe Beagle

Stagecoach history wins heritage award for Kevin Setter

Kevin Setter is the 2023 recipient of the Fergus Thomson OAM Heritage Award, accepting his prize from Yvonne Thomson at the Bas on Tuesday 5 September.

The award recognises Mr Setter’s many months of original research – searching through microfilm and the online research tool Trove – and publication of Stage Coaches and Royal Mail Southern Eastern NSW 1841-1913, a comprehensive history of stagecoach travel in southeast NSW.

Between 1841 and 1913 stagecoach was a popular and reliable way to travel. Mr Setter examines diverse aspects including early colonial coaches, accidents, mail contracts, and road building in the difficult coastal terrain. The book includes many exciting adventures and is also comprehensively indexed to assist readers in compiling their own family histories.

The annual $1,500 Fergus Thomson OAM Heritage Award honours the former Mayor who was committed to preserving Eurobodalla’s cultural heritage. Previous winners include the Moruya Antique Tractor and Machinery Association, Shirley Jurman, and Gary Traynor.

Also at the ceremony, Bronwen Harvey was presented with the 2023 recognition award for her work as chair of Tilba’s History and Culture Working Group that created static and audio-visual displays combining historical and contemporary stories, and showcased at the 2023 Tilba Festival.

Above: 2023 Fergus Thomson OAM Heritage Award winner Kevin Setter.

Above: 2023 recognition award winner Bronwen Harvey.


NOTE: Comments were TRIALED - in the end it failed as humans will be humans and it turned into a pile of merde; only contributed to by just a handful who did little to add to the conversation of the issue at hand. Anyone who would like to contribute an opinion are encouraged to send in a Letter to the Editor where it might be considered for publication

bottom of page