Sam’s play for the win in Mayor’s Writing Competition

A short play titled The Last Tram set the stage for Carroll College student Sam Bath to win the major prize in this year’s Mayor’s Writing Competition.

The 16-year-old said he was inspired by poetry to pen the piece, which brings three very different people together on a tram.

“I am passionate about writing, I’m also an actor,” he said, “so I write characters I would like to play or see on stage.”

Sam was awarded the Mayor’s Writing Competition’s Syd Hayes Creative Writing Award, receiving a pen made from swamp mahogany, sourced near Preddys Wharf, by Richard Turley.

The annual Mayor’s Writing Competition invites Eurobodalla authors aged between five and 18 to submit an original work in any style of creative writing.

Finalists in the six age categories received a copy of the Mayor’s Writing Competition Anthology 2021, which includes their work, while winners received a $50 Moruya Books voucher and runners-up a $30 Moruya Books voucher. Encouragement award winners and special mentions in each category also received a certificate.

Alice Johnson, who was one of the four judges for the competition this year, said the entries showcased an impressive range of writing modes, styles and subject matter.

“It was a thoroughly worthwhile and rewarding experience reading creative pieces from such a talented group of writers,” she said.

“Judging was definitely a challenge.”

The awards were presented by Eurobodalla Mayor Liz Innes at the Moruya RSL Hall on Thursday. Clr Innes said that over the past 12 years the competition had received more than 2,500 entries.

“This competition is a fantastic platform for our young people to express themselves and show their creative talents,” she said.

“To become a finalist in the Mayor’s Writing Competition is a huge achievement, congratulations to all of you.”

Age category finalists and winners: 5-6 years: Special mentions Sofia Burazer and Abigail Piper, encouragement award Aleera Murphy, runner-up Bella Cowling, winner Sunnie Thompson.

7-8 years: Special mentions Peyton Apps and Lachlan Hanns, encouragement award Zara McCarthy, runner-up Isabella Stanton, winner Poppy Mitchell.

9-10 years: Special mentions Evelyn Bailey and Joey Clark-Mori, encouragement award Max Kay, runner-up Abigail Heane, winner Daisy West

11-12 years: Special mentions Sophia Carver and Makhenzie Mathie, encouragement award Naomi Steffan, runner-up Maison Heane, winner Ollie Burke.

13-14 years: Special mentions Erin Drewsen and Scarlett Walters, encouragement award Emma Penberthy, runner-up Charlie-May Hough, winner Angus Blythe.

15-18 years: Special mentions Makadde Ethell and Bethany Russell, encouragement award Ryles Walters, runner-up Alana Holley, winner Sam Bath.

Syd Hayes Creative Writing Award: Sam Bath, “The Last Tram”.

Above: Finalists and winners in this year’s Mayor’s Writing Competition, with judges Alice Johnson (back left) and Lynne Babbage (back right) and Eurobodalla Mayor Liz Innes (front left).

Above: Syd Hayes Creative Writing Award recipient Sam Bath, of Carroll College.

Sem2 Display 750x350 v1a (1).png