spreads (6).gif

Local Land Services boards voting gets underway this Thursday, 9 April 2020


Land managers in the South East will decide who is elected to Local Land Services boards around the state when voting gets underway this Thursday, 9 April 2020.

Nearly 100 candidates are standing for 34 vacant positions on 11 Local Land Services regional boards around the state.

A total of 11 candidates are running in the South East region, with three to be elected.

“I am urging all South East Local Land Services ratepayers to take up the opportunity to choose who they want on their regional board,” said State Chair of Local Land Services, Richard Bull.

“These ratepayer-elected board members will play a crucial role in helping keep the agency local and relevant in the South East,” said Mr Bull.

Anyone who pays Local Land Services rates and is aged over 18 is eligible to vote in the elections.

However, intending voters need to formally request an electronic voting pack by 5 pm AEST on 6 May 2020.

Voting in the election closes at 5 pm AEST on 8 May 2020.

The Local Land Services website has details on how to vote and links to the candidates for the South East regional board.

“Given the implications of COVID-19, it is fortunate that voting can be done online,” said Mr Bull.

The process is simple, and ratepayers who didn't request a postal voting pack, have until 6 May to request an electronic voting pack,” he said.

The elected board members will sit alongside those appointed by the Minister for Agriculture and Western NSW, Adam Marshall, and together they will guide Local Land Services.

Local Land Services is the frontline agency that helps grow and protect agriculture and environments in NSW and connects rural people to the best advice and services.

“It is vital we have continued strong leadership of Local Land Services, so that we can continue to deliver quality customer services to farmers, landholders and the wider community,” said Mr Bull.

“We need people on our boards who know the issues of rural NSW, who are from a variety of backgrounds with a range of expertise,” said Mr Bull.

Australian Election Company (Austelect) have been formally appointed as the Returning Officer for the election so that objectivity is maintained throughout the process.

Once ratepayers request an electronic voting pack, they will receive an email from Austelect with the link to the secure voting website, their unique password and instructions on how to cast their vote.

Key dates:

● voting opens on Thursday 9 April

● requests for electronic voting packs close at 5 pm AEST Wednesday 6 May

● voting closes at 5 pm AEST Friday 8 May

● election results will be announced by June.

Above: State Chair of Local Land Services, Richard Bull

COMMENTS : You can use a pen name or better yet use your real name, you must provide a valid email address (that does not get published) and your comment will be moderated prior to approval (or rejection if that is the determination of the moderator). Refer to our Terms and Conditions if you have any questions) 

Please note that from time to time comments are archived. If you are looking for a previous comment no longer visible please contact us. Last Archived 7th July 2019