spreads (20).gif

Local golfer Leigh Coloe wins Tuross Open Cchampionship

Tuross Head men’s golf held the 2019 Open Championship tournament this weekend on a course presented in pristine condition and the club catered for a capacity number of players.

Played over 36 holes on Saturday and Sunday, local and visiting competitors enjoyed a strong competition.

Well known local golfer Leigh Coloe emerged as the club champion with a scratch score of 145 strokes with visiting Campbelltown player Adam Weeks second with 146 strokes.

Tuross club members Tony Brown was the overall net championship winner with 134 strokes ahead of Wayne Fullerton, a runner up on 135 strokes.

The championships were held over three divisions and the results are:

A grade scratch winner: Glenn Evans 150 strokes, runner up Michael Coulter 153.

A grade net winner: Michael Driscoll 140, runner up Mark Haberkorn 140 on a countback.

B grade scratch winner: Richard Wharton 177 strokes, runner up Peter Nikolic 177 on a countback.

B grade net winner: Reg Apps 141 with Peter McRae runner up on 145 strokes.

C grade scratch winner: Steve Johnston 194 strokes, runner up Rob McDonell 195.

C grade net winner: Joel Hilliard 141 strokes with Darren Wilmouth runner up on 144.

Saturday 30th November competition results:

A grade scratch winner: Adam Weeks 71 strokes, Gel Evans runner up with71 on a countback.

A grade net winner: Mark Haberkorn 63 strokes ahead of Ian Law 67.

B grade scratch winner: Peter Nikolic 85 on a countback from Peter McRae.

B grade net winner: Wayne Fullerton 66, Tony Brown 69 strokes.

C grade scratch winner: Derek Hoare 97, Graeme Bell 98.

C grade net winner: Joel Hilliard 68, Colin Kermode 69 strokes.

The Golden Shot award was won by A. Langford.

Sunday 1st December competition results:

A grade scratch winner: Leigh Coloe 74 strokes ahead of Adam Weeks 75.

A grade net winner: Michael Driscoll 67, Tim Watson 70.

B grade scratch winner: Tony Brown 84, Bruce Lidbury 87.

B grade net winner: Bruce Cleeve 69 strokes ahead of Wayne Fullerton on a countback.

C grade scratch winner: Steve Johnston 96 strokes, runner up Robert McDonell 97.

C grade net winner: Darren Wilmouth, Joel Hilliard 73.

The Golden Shot award was won by Adam Weeks.

Super Raffle Prizes:

HelloWorld Travel Voucher: Mark Haberkorn

Tuross Beach Caravan Park Holiday: Rex Wood

Moruya Jockey Club “Day at the Races”: Wendy Schmid

Thursday’s medley stableford results:

Ian Kingston's’ 37 stableford points won him this event ahead of Robert McDonell, Bruce Martin and Graham Moore who each finished with 36 points.

Nearest the pins were won by Ian Manton, Marie Mapleson and Steve Johnston.

 Above: Open Champion Leigh Coloe receives award from golf vice president David Schmid

COMMENTS : Due to the risks associated with comments from unidentified contributors that expose The Beagle to possible legal actions under the NSW Defamation Act 2005 No 77 anonymous or Nom de Plume comments will not be available unless the author is known to the editor by way of a verified email address or by association.

Others who provide their REAL NAME (first name AND Surname) and a verifiable email address (it won't be published) are invited to comment below. (yes it is a pain but please comply - it would be a  shame to see your comment deleted)

Those contributors KNOWN to us and verified may continue to use their First Name or Nom de plume for ease. The primary need for all of this is due to traceability should a legal action arise.

If you need anonymity email us via our normal or encrypted email accounts

Please note that if you are looking for a previous comment that is no longer visible please contact us.