spreads (14).gif

Finalists Named In The 2020 Surf Life Saving NSW Awards Of Excellence

A strong field of 179 finalists has been named in the 2020 Surf Life Saving NSW Awards of Excellence. Anthony Bellette of Batemans Bay SLSC (below) is a finalist in the category of Volunteer of the Year along with Batemans Bay SLSC Bushfire Response Team, Batemans Bay SLSC in the running to be Services Team of the Year Others in contention from the Eurobodalla are : Surf Sports Team of Year Batemans Bay 180 YRS Phoenix, Batemans Bay SLSC Youth Volunteer Ryley Spoelder-Hanlon, Moruya SLSC Coach of Year Rob Pollock, Broulee Surfers SLSC Athlete of the Year Darren Drewsen, Broulee Surfers SLSC

Youth Athlete of the Year Elli Beecham, Narooma SLSC

You can view the full list HERE

Above: Anthony Bellette is the joint winner of Eurobodalla’s 2020 Local Hero award - Photo ESC

On Saturday 29 August 2020, hundreds of Surf Life Saving NSW club members will celebrate their high achievers at the first ever virtual Awards of Excellence. The annual awards recognise the outstanding achievements and contributions made in all aspects of Surf Life Saving. They celebrate the accomplishments of members, clubs and branches during the 2019/20 season.  For the first time, the awards will be held online - due to the current COVID-19 restrictions. Viewers will be able to watch the event live via the SLSNSW Facebook page and YouTube channel from 6.30pm, Saturday 29 August.  There will be 24 awards presented during the event in the following categories:  Overall Awards

  • Surf Lifesaver of the Year 

  • Volunteer of the Year 

  • Club of the Year 

  • Branch of the Year 

  • President’s Medal 

Lifesaving Awards

  • Patrol Captain of the Year 

  • Patrol of the Year 

  • Youth Surf Lifesaver of the Year 

  • Lifeguard of the Year 

  • Rescue of the Year 

Surf Sports Awards 

  • Official of the Year 

  • Masters Athlete of the Year 

  • Coach of the Year 

  • Youth Athlete of the Year 

  • Surf Sports Team of the Year 

  • Athlete of the Year 

Membership Awards

  • Administrator of the Year 

  • Services Team of the Year 

  • Youth Volunteer of the Year 

Education Awards

  • Innovation Award

  • Trainer of the Year 

  • Assessor of the Year 

  • Facilitator of the Year 

  • Community Education Program of the Year 

Surf Life Saving NSW President George Shales congratulated all the finalists in the 2020 Awards of Excellence.  “The Surf Life Saving NSW Awards of Excellence celebrates and recognises the incredible people in our organisation and the positive impact they have on their clubs, members and their local communities,” said George Shales OAM.  Surf Life Saving NSW Membership Manager Claire Bevis said that, “The awards are a wonderful opportunity for us to acknowledge the achievements of our members at a state-level in front of the wider lifesaving community. We are excited to take the awards online this year and present the first ever ‘Virtual Awards of Excellence’ where everyone can attend – regardless of their location.”  The awards are traditionally a highlight on the social calendar and Surf Life Saving NSW encourages everyone to participate in the online event and support the awards. It promises to be a fantastic night with hosts Harold Marshall (Umina SLSC) and Georgie Rowe (Collaroy SLSC).  

COMMENTS : Due to the risks associated with comments from unidentified contributors that expose The Beagle to possible legal actions under the NSW Defamation Act 2005 No 77 anonymous or Nom de Plume comments will not be available

NOTE to those wishing to comment: Tell us your name. First and second name. Make a comment and own it. Have a conversation but let the other person know who you are. No name - no publishing of your comment - simple. 

If you need anonymity email us via our normal or encrypted email accounts. 

Please note that if you are looking for a previous comment that is no longer visible please contact us.