Derek Hoare wins Tuross Head stableford event

Derek Hoare won this week’s  Tuross Head men’s golf stableford competition with an excellent score of 42 points. Michael Elfar returned a card with the same score but was relegated to second place on a countback.

Stephen Swanbury 38 points, Tony Brown  and Peter Garn both on 37 points filled the remaining award positions.

A combination 2 Ball Best Ball event was held in conjunction with the single stableford round and this was won by John Phyland and Michael Elfar with 49 points.

Reginald Apps had a pleasant result when his second shot on the par 4 11th hole rolled into the hole for an eagle.

Balls were handed out down to 33 points.

Nearest the pins were won by A grade golfers:

Ian Lawson on the 4th hole with 2.60 m.

Martin Booth won the 6th with a very close  14 centimetres and

Colin Houghton the 7th with 78 centimetres.

Jim Wade won the B grade section with a close 42 centimetres on the 4th hole and

Peter Garn was best on the 6th with 1.44 m.

C  grade closest on the 4th hole was Michael Elfar with 1.05 m.

Peter Dugan won the 6th with 22.16 m and Trevor Jones the 7th with 8.77 m.

Tuross Head’s Thursday medley stableford competition was won Ian Kingston with 41 stableford points.

Dorothy Madden was a close second with 40 points.

Brad Doolan 38 points and Dave Schmid 37 filled the remaining award spots.

Nearest the pins were won by Michael Hogan, Allen Gannon and Shirley Quinlan.

 Above: Tuross Head event sponsor Peter Dugan congratulates stableford winner Derek Hoare.


COMMENTS : You can use a pen name or better yet use your real name, you must provide a valid email address (that does not get published) and your comment will be moderated prior to approval (or rejection if that is the determination of the moderator). Refer to our Terms and Conditions if you have any questions) 

Please note that from time to time comments are archived. If you are looking for a previous comment no longer visible please contact us. Last Archived 7th July 2019