CWA Conference Committee Team Spirit   

The local organising committee for the CWA of NSW State 2021 Conference, scheduled in Bega in May, recently held their second meeting in Cobargo with eight committee members from the CWA Far South Coast Group, stretching from Eden to Batemans Bay, the midpoint for meetings is Cobargo CWA Cottage.    

CWA organising committee members had a full agenda with a whole day meeting. Helen Galton OAM, committee President, is responsible for overall management plus ongoing liaison with Bega Showground, the conference venue.  Helen said “I am impressed with the organising committee’s enthusiasm and energy and our constructive meetings”. 

Alison Jenkins, committee Treasurer from Pambula-Merimbula branch, is responsible for finances and has set-up a CWA Conference account with a local bank. Helen, Alison and Robyn Wright OAM from Moruya branch have successfully sourced raffle prizes for fundraising. Lynn Lawson, committee Secretary from Cobargo branch, is responsible for overall administration and record keeping.  Lynn said “We covered a lot of ground and it was a very constructive meeting. I am proud to be included in such an energetic group.”

Nelleke Gorton from Bega branch is responsible for conference catering, will source local food from our region. Nelleke mentioned how delicious the Ploughman’s Lunch is at the Bega Cheese Heritage Centre and would like visiting CWA members to taste this. Vicki Hummel from Bermagui branch will be sourcing local support acts for the bush dance and gala dinner.  Vicki would like country-style decorations including hay bales and big vegetables to enhance the Bega Showground Pavilion. Annette Kennewell from Tilba branch is selecting local tours to showcase the uniqueness of our region.  Introducing Sue Hall from Bega branch, a retired nurse and Brogo beef farmer, the eighth enthusiastic member of the conference committee.   

For more information on the CWA State Conference in Bega, please contact Secretary Lynn Lawson by email

Above: L to R: CWA of NSW State Conference committee members, Sue Hall, Nelleke Gorton and Helen Galton, all from Bega branch CWA