AD (1).png

“ Crackerjack” of a Women’s Bowls Pairs Final

by Margaret Downey

On a beautiful Tuross winter’s day last Tuesday, on a day just right for a game of bowls, four experienced and talented bowlers took to the greens to play in the last of the Tuross Women’s Major Championship events.

A betting person would have had a hard job punting on the winner of this game. The result demonstrated the closeness and excitement of this final.

Doreen Monks and Sue Fahey played against Irene Macdonald and Denise Lidbury in a hard- fought game.

The ladies went end to end with their shots. Team Fahey won the first end, then Team Lidbury was on the board after the second end. This set the scene for the remainder of the game. After the seventh end, they were 7 all, then 12- all on the 12th end. On the penultimate end 17, they were 17 all. With nerves of steel the last end was played and the game was eventually won by one shot up on the last end by the Macdonald / Lidbury combination, 18-17. The many spectators and supporters were in awe of the excellent demonstration of bowling from both sides.

Congratulations to the winners Irene Macdonald and Denise Lidbury and to the runners- up Doreen Monks and Sue Fahey. After the match they were presented with their winners medals by President Doreen.

The women held their AGM last Wednesday afternoon and a new committee for 2021/22 was elected. There are still a few vacant positions and the Expression of Interest (EOI’s) process will close next week when we will announce the new committee. We have welcomed several new bowlers to our ranks and the membership has increased to 30. This is very pleasing news for the bowls family at Tuross Head and will ensure that we have strength in our pennant sides for 2022.

Several Tuross sides also played in a Triples carnival at Dalmeny Bowling Club last Friday. The Tuross side of Gail Page, Denise Lidbury and Rita Downie came 3rd in a very strong field. Well done ladies.

We thank the community for the wonderful support for the “fun day fundraiser” which will be held this Sunday.

Pairs winners Denise and Irene