Sem2 Display 750x350 v1a (1).png

Bush Fire Danger Period starts in the South East Sept 1st

An additional 21 areas across NSW including Bega Valley, Eurobodalla and the Shoalhaven will begin the bush fire season tomorrow due to local conditions. NSW Commissioner Rob Rogers said the NSW RFS had declared a further 21 areas will commence the Bush Fire Danger Period from Tuesday 1 September 2020 – bringing the number of local government areas in bush fire season to 27. “Increased grass growth due to recent rain could prove problematic over coming weeks and months, particularly in these areas starting their danger period,” Commissioner Rogers said. “Land holders and firefighters have reported increased grass growth, particularly west of the divide. Once dry and cured this will bring an unwelcome threat of grass fires. The statutory Bush Fire Danger Period in NSW commences on 1 October each year, but is adjusted based on local conditions. Anyone wishing to light a fire during the Bush Fire Danger Period must obtain a permit from their local fire authority. “Permits, which are free to obtain, ensure that fire is used safely and to minimise the danger to landholders, their property and the community,” Commissioner Rogers said. “While hazard reductions burns are an important part of preparations, landholders need to be extremely careful. “Never leave a fire unattended and if a fire does escape, make sure you call Triple Zero (000) immediately so that emergency services can respond and minimise the damage.” Commissioner Rogers also urged homeowners to prepare for the fire season, noting that we cannot be complacent this season despite the Bureau forecasting a wet start to the fire season. 

“Bush and grass fires can strike at any time and it is vitally important to be prepared.

“Update your bush fire survival plan and have the conversation with your family about what you will do during a fire – including where you’ll go, what you’ll take and what you’ll do with animals. For information on making a bush fire survival plan, visit or for information about permits and fire danger ratings go to

The 21 Local Government Areas commencing their Bush Fire Danger Period 1 September 2020:

  • Muswellbrook

  • Singleton

  • Mid-Coast

  • Port Macquarie-Hastings

  • Clarence Valley

  • Ballina

  • Byron

  • Tweed Nambucca

  • Kempsey

  • Bellingen

  • Coffs Harbour

  • Lismore

  • Richmond Valley

  • Kyogle

  • Gunnedah

  • Liverpool Plains

  • Upper Hunter

  • Bega Valley

  • Eurobodalla

  • Shoalhaven