top of page
Screenshot 2023-06-13 180949.png
  • Writer's pictureThe Beagle


The Batemans Bay Youth Foundation hosted an inspirational presentation function at the Batemans Bay Soldiers Club last night (Tuesday 17 January 2023).

Ninety special guests, including family members congratulated eleven students from four local high schools who received grants of $3,500 to assist them in making the transition to living away from home.

The successful students this year are:

Emma Moses B of Nursing UOW

Alana Gallen B of Law/Int. Studies UOW

Dylan Golden B of Film Production UOC

Tayissa Briele B of Teaching UOW

Phoebe Kinnane B of Nursing UOW

Drew Hubbard Carpentry trade TAFE

Joel Vedouw Barbering trade TAFE

Nieve Blackman B of Psychology CSU

Bonnie Rouch B of Nursing CSU

Tara Doran B of Arts / Teaching Macq

Makadde Ethell B of Health Science ANU

On receiving their grant each student gave a short speech outlining their tertiary education plans, their accommodation plans and how the grant would be used to support their transition to tertiary study. Each student story was unique in many aspects. Examples included: a student who has a passion for photography who over summer has been protecting swimmers by providing drone patrols on our beaches; two students who are well on their way to completing their trades through the school-based apprenticeship program; three students who are pursuing careers in nursing. All students were very excited about this major step in their lives.

Two Excellence Prizes named after the late Chairman Alex Taylor OAM, and the retired Chairman Peter Wood OAM were also presented. Each prize of $1,000 is paid for excellent scholastic performance in the first year of university, restricted to Grantees of the previous year.

The prizes were awarded to Cate Shea, studying for a Bachelor of Primary Education at the University of Canberra, who achieved 2 high distinctions, 6 distinctions in her first year. Damia O’Loughlin received an award for her achievement of 7 high distinctions and 3 distinctions at Sydney University Conservatorium of Music. Damia also entertained the function with a delightful musical recital.

Joshua Vanzetti entertained the gathering with an address about his experiences during his year at ANU studying Engineering.

The BBYF was established in 1994 for the purpose of providing financial assistance to students leaving high school to pursue personal development and advancement in an unlimited range of worthwhile fields of endeavour. It is supported by a partnership between Batemans Bay Rotary, RSL and Soldiers Club.

Since 1994 the Foundation has given Grants to 250 students, worth a total value of $780,000. Every cent was locally raised, privately donated, or as part of a bequest.

The BBYF selection panel had the daunting task of determining the 11 grantees from a field of 26 applicants. This was completed through December with interviews held in January. For those receiving a grant, it is a vote of confidence by the Batemans Bay community. The foundation wishes all applicants every success for the future.

2023 BBYF Sudents L-R Back: Drew Hubbard, Joshua Vanzetti, Dylan Golden, Alana Gallen, Phoebe Kinnane, Neive Blackman L-R Front: Cate Shea, Damia O’Loughlin, Makadde Ethell, Tara Doran, Tayissa Brieley, Emma Moses


NOTE: Comments were TRIALED - in the end it failed as humans will be humans and it turned into a pile of merde; only contributed to by just a handful who did little to add to the conversation of the issue at hand. Anyone who would like to contribute an opinion are encouraged to send in a Letter to the Editor where it might be considered for publication

bottom of page