AD (1).png

2019 Mayor’s Writing Competition

Family and friends filled the chamber as the shire’s most promising young writers were applauded at the 2019 Mayor’s Writing Competition awards.

The Eurobodalla Mayor presented each of the finalists with a certificate and an anthology of the students’ stories, before awarding overall winner Rosie McPartland with the Syd Hayes Creative Writing Award - an exquisite handcrafted pen presented in a beautiful case made from Moruya River swamp sheoak, made by craftsman Richard Turley.

The Mayor said the judges had been very impressed with Rosie’s entry, ‘Dandy – The Seeds of Adventure’.

To acknowledge Rosie’s achievement, the Perpetual Shield, donated by the Eurobodalla Fellowship of Australian Writers will be displayed at St Peter’s Anglican College.

Now in its eleventh year, the Mayor’s Writing Competition was initiated by the late Clr Fergus Thomson. In that time students have submitted more than 2,500 entries.

Above: Finalists for the 2019 Mayors Writing Competition at Council’s chamber on Thursday 25 July 2019.

Above: Mayor Innes with overall and Syd Hayes Creative Writing Award winner Rosie McPartland.


5-6 years: Sophia Pincott, Jordan Hatcher, Liliana Murphy and Poppy Mitchell.

7-9 years: Maison Heane, Adam Wellington, Rosie McPartland and Daisy West.

10-12 years: Matthew Denys, Iona Kelly, Zahlia Kelly and Illia MacLachlan.

13-15 years: Jake Brogan, Leila Patyus, Huon Dufield, Emma Moses and Grace Reid. 

16-18 years: Ryan Hall, Hugh Tuckwell, Jye Cook & Ashley MacKinnon. 

Winner of the Syd Hayes Award and the Eurobodalla Writers’ Perpetual Shield Trophy: Rosie McPartland for her story called ‘Dandy – The Seeds Adventure’.