spreads (15).gif

Tuross Head Country Club stages 2018 Open Championship

The Tuross Head Country Club nine hole golf course has recently been rated as one of the best in Australia and last weekend local and visiting golfers competed for the 2018 36 hole open championship.

The course is without doubt in its best condition ever, with excellent fairways, mown roughs and hallmark, challenging well manicured greens.

Michael Coulter, from Tura Beach, won the Tuross Head Country Club Open Championship with a scratch score of 141 strokes. Michael was closely followed by Jason Nikolic with 143.

Paul Pereira of Tuross Head was the overall net winner with 139 strokes, with Ken Brown also from the home club, finishing with 141 on a countback from Paul Israel.

Overall grade winners were:

A grade scratch winner was Gavin Fitzgerald of Moruya with 153 strokes.

Scratch runner up was won by Leigh Coloe on 154.

Brad Doolan was presented with the A grade net winner award with 143 strokes and Adam Husband was runner up with 145.

B grade scratch winner was Steve Swanbury from Tuross Head with a score of 175 strokes ahead of Steve O’Shea 179.

Terry O’Connor of Moruya was awarded the net division section with a score of 143 strokes and Leigh Chalk was runner up with 147.

C grade golfer Peter McRae scored 186 over the 36 hole tournament to take out the scratch division with 186 with Peter Hogan filling second placing with 187.

The net best was Paul Israel who handed in a card of 141 strokes ahead of Derek Hoare with 144.

Saturday December 1 results Round 1

A grade scratch golfer Michael Coulter 70, runner up Jason Nikolic 70 second on a countback.

Net winner was Craig Garn 69 with Rick Monopoli second on a countback.

Nearest the pins: Michael Barnes, Brad Doolan, Leigh Coloe.

Golden Shot: Craig Garn and longest drive Gavin Fitzgerald.

B grade scratch winner was Marty Booth from Ian McManus 87.

Net winner Leigh Chalk scored a net 70 from Peter Garp 71.

Nearest the pins: Paul Scholze, Kevin Healey and Leigh Chalk.

Longest drive: Kevin Healey.

C grade scratch winner was awarded to Peter Hogan with 91 strokes ahead of Paul Pereira 92.

Greg Johnston 68 won the net competition from Ian Kingston 70.

Nearest the pins: Peter Dugan with Mike Allen closest on two holes.

Longest drive: Peter McRae.

Sunday December 2 results Round 2

A grade scratch winner was again Michael Coulter with 71 strokes and Jason Nikolic was the runner up with 73.

Ken Brown 71 won the net division from Adam Husband 72.

Nearest the pins: Peter Keogh, Leigh Coloe and Jason Nikolic.

Longest drive went to Bradley Foster and Michael Driscoll won the Golden Shot competition.

B grade scratch winner was Ian Lawson with 85 strokes ahead on a countback from Steve Swanbury.

Net best was Tony O’Connor with 68 ahead of Kevin Dukes with 72.

Nearest the pins: Trevor Jones, Ian McManus and Bruce Cleeve.

Longest drive: Jim Wade.

C grade player Peter McRae with 87 strokes won the scratch event from Steve Johnston.

Net winner: Paul Israel with 71 strokes ahead of Gerry Strickland 72.

Nearest the pins: Nick Boom, Lance Shadbolt and Ian Kingston.

Longest drive: Nick Boom.

Above: THCC net winner Paul Pereira (L) receives award from golf president Andrew Gordon. Photo: Courtesy Tony Brown

Above: Tuross Head Country Club Open Champion Michael Coulter. Photo: Courtesy Tony Brown

#Sports #Tuross

COMMENTS : Due to the risks associated with comments from unidentified contributors that expose The Beagle to possible legal actions under the NSW Defamation Act 2005 No 77 anonymous or Nom de Plume comments will not be available until an alternate system of author verification can be investigated and hopefully installed.

Those who provide their REAL NAME (first name AND Surname) and a verifiable email address (it won't be published) are invited to comment below. (yes it is a pain but please comply - it would be a  shame to see your comment deleted)

Those contributors KNOWN to us and verified may continue to use their First Name for ease. The primary need for all of this is due to traceability should a legal action arise.

If you need anonymity email us via our normal or encrypted email accounts

Please note that if you are looking for a previous comment that is no longer visible please contact us.