top of page
Screenshot 2023-06-13 180949.png
  • Writer's pictureThe Beagle

Broulee Runners Wednesday 14th Nov 2018

The rain held off and the athletes came out to play. 47 people ran and walked the 3 courses on offer at the Broulee Run/walk. We welcomed Deanne Brennan from Canberra for her first run with the group. Also, Aiden O’Leary and the Murphy boys Angus and Justin made their first appearance.

In the 2 kilometres personal best times were recorded by Audrey and Regina Knobel, Nick and Ben Hall and Emily Dickinson. In the 3.5 kilometres the improvers were Matt Johnsen and Jacquellyn O’Leary. In the 5 kilometres the stars were Isabelle Starmer and Greg Whipp.

This evening Matt Johnsen and Gerard Van Weerdenburg (Pictured) were awarded their 30-run shirts. For both it has been a long journey for both men. Matt’s first run with the group was back in 2012. He then travelled to America on an athletic scholarship where he performed with distinction. Since returning to the district he has been active in the promotion and coaching of athletics. Gerard also had his first run in 2012 but injury, work and horses hindered his appearances. He is now back with a vengeance and is about the compete in a triathlon.

Above: Matt Johnsen and Gerard Van Weerdenburg.(L to R).


Sunni West 8.42 Emily Dickinson 10.32 Bruce Dickinson 10.32 Audrey Knobel 10.36 Regina Knobel 10.37 Daisy West 10.41 David West 10.42 Millie Shanahan 12.11 Ben Hall 14.33 Nick Hall 14.34 Travis Dummett 19.00 Peter Johnsen 19.01 Kathryn Jeffery 19.33 Nancy Costin 19.34 Nathan Costin 19.34 Jade Berry 19.41 Christina Murray 20.13 Jenny Pollock 20.16 Robyn Domeny 20.54 Ebony Berry 23.15 Jacquie Berry 23.15

3.5 Kilometres

Matt Johnsen 12.42 Angus Murphy 17.06 Justin Murphy 17.10 Tania Dorney 19.41 Julianne Domeny 20.38 Laura Lopresti 22.20 Annie Johnsen 23.50 Jacquellyn O’Leary 24.29 Aiden O’Leary 24.30 David McCann 29.03

5 Kilometres

Daniel Beby 17.55 Matt Lambert 21.12 Greg Whipp 21.43 Deanne Brennan 22.51 Isabelle Starmer 22.53 Adrian Connor 24.01 Dave Connaughton 24.27 Alan Andrews 24.42 Gerard Van Weerdenburg 25.04 Gary Ashton 25.24 Vaughn Gilligan 26.57 Marella Granata 27.49 Deb Connaughton 27.51 Karyn Starmer 33.28 Robyn Kennedy 41.46 Richard Fisher 46.42 47 Starters

NOTE: Comments were TRIALED - in the end it failed as humans will be humans and it turned into a pile of merde; only contributed to by just a handful who did little to add to the conversation of the issue at hand. Anyone who would like to contribute an opinion are encouraged to send in a Letter to the Editor where it might be considered for publication

bottom of page