Tuross Head Men’s Bowls

In a very busy week at Tuross both the Women’s and Men’s Classic Pairs have been played while the semi-finalists in the Club’s Mixed pairs have been decided.

Despite the threat of rain the Men’s Classic Pairs was completed without any disruption. Unfortunately, the little rain that we did have overnight on a couple of the days affected the way the greens played. In the end it was the same for all teams who had a big three days playing six matches of 21 ends!

Two teams managed to win all of their games and took the main shares of the $3500 prize money! Dave Caldwell and Don Cooper from Moruya had a great tournament winning with six wins and a total margin of plus 98 shots. They have been great supporters of this event for many years and it is the first time they have come out on top.

Jason Hossack (Bombala) teamed with Malua Bay’s Steve Maher to take out second place with six wins and plus 55. Tim Kovacs (Moruya) and Tony Giannasca (Malua Bay) were third with five wins and plus 54.

Peter Hattam (Narooma) and Doug Ebsworth (Malua Bay) recovered from a disaster in the second round to grab fourth place with five wins and plus 36. The final place getters were Callala Beach players Paul Kennedy and Anthony Fisher who managed to hang on to fifth place despite having a draw in the last game. They ended with four wins, a draw and a margin of plus 45.

Jeff Rankin (Moruya) and Nick King (Lake Conjola) had two very close losses to push them out of the place getters but they managed to have the best last game score to go home with some reward!!

A big thanks to Club Tuross and all of the staff for their support of the tournament!

Mixed Pairs

The semi -finalists in the mixed pairs have been decided after the final two quarter finals were played on Saturday. The interesting point about both of these games is that they featured two of our newest women bowlers playing in their first competitive matches. Despite being on the losing sides both ladies, Cheryl McCrae and Di Challis, played very well.

Sharron Perry and Joel Hilliard proved to be too experienced for Cheryl McCrae and Lawrie Riley. Perry and Hilliard had to hold off a good finish from McCrae and Riley. The key was they were able to restrict the number of shots McCrae and Riley were able to score on the ends that they won.

After 12 ends the other game between Lorraine Wake and Allan Etheredge and Di Challis and Stuart Graham was locked at 12 all and could have gone either way. However, again it was experience that was the difference with Wake and Etheredge slowly pulling away to earn a spot in the semis!

Above: Classic Pairs winners Don Cooper and Dave Caldwell with Club Tuross Vice president Jim Madden

Above: Seconds in Classic Pairs Jason Hossack and Steve Maher with Club Tuross Vice President Jim Madden

Above: Third In Classic Pairs Tim Kovacs and Tony Giannasca

#Tuross #Sports


COMMENTS : You can use a pen name or better yet use your real name, you must provide a valid email address (that does not get published) and your comment will be moderated prior to approval (or rejection if that is the determination of the moderator). Refer to our Terms and Conditions if you have any questions) 

Please note that from time to time comments are archived. If you are looking for a previous comment no longer visible please contact us. Last Archived 7th July 2019