Tight Battle at Round 1 of Tuross Vets Championship

With round 1 of the Tuross Vets championships to be played a good field of 58 players registered for today's event.

Results on the day were as follows:

1st: Errol Soden with a nett 29 strokes on count back.

2nd: Noel Fletcher, also with 29.

3rd: Alan McLeod with 30.

4th: Kaye Lunt on 31 on count back.

Ball or Chocolate:

Len Rogers on 31, Dorothy Madden, Ross Hendy, Ian Wratten and Les Johanson on 33, followed by Bruce Martin, Rob Nash, Rick Brake, Barry Hoban, Teri Swanbury, Steve Johnston, Peter McRae and Allan Gannon on 34.


A three way count back was required with Ken Brown winning out with a total of 12 putts for nine holes

Bradman Award:

Another count back was required to determine the winner of this infamous award but Des Jackson narrowly squeezed out Andrew Gordon.

Nearest the Pins:

4th: Ian Manton, in the hole.

6th: Des Jackson.

Ladies 7th: Kay McLeod.

Men's 7th: Steve Johnston, in the hole.


Chris Wratten took out this week's award.

Next Week:

Next week's event will be a Coloured Ball Team Stableford event with registration in the downstairs sports bar area from 7.45am and a shotgun start at 8.30am. Players are reminded that round 2 of the Vets championships will be played on Wednesday 12 September 2018.

Above: Round 1 winner Errol Soden (left) with runner up Noel Fletcher.

#Tuross #Sports


COMMENTS : You can use a pen name or better yet use your real name, you must provide a valid email address (that does not get published) and your comment will be moderated prior to approval (or rejection if that is the determination of the moderator). Refer to our Terms and Conditions if you have any questions) 

Please note that from time to time comments are archived. If you are looking for a previous comment no longer visible please contact us. Last Archived 7th July 2019