spreads (5).gif

Tuross Head veteran golfer Derek Hoare wins single stroke competition

In what started out as a good morning a field of 56 players took to the course for this morning's Stroke and Putts event. Although the sun disappeared and wind came up before games end we managed to complete the round before rain and hail later on the day. Results for the event were as follows:

1st: Derek Hoare with a nett 31 strokes on count back. Derek's round included two never before experienced consecutive birdies on holes 6 and 7.

2nd: Runner up was Errol Soden, also with a fine score of 31.

3rd: Neal Watson on 32 on count back.

Ball or Chocolate:

Steve Swanbury on 32, Leonie Snodgrass, Kay McLeod and Teri Swanbury all with 34, Mike Birks on 35, Henry Anderson, Robert McKirdy, Terry Challender and Robin Green on 36, followed by Richard Kelly, Bruce Martin, Lance Shadbolt, Des Jackson and Herb Muriwai all on 37.


Mike Birks won the putting competition with 13 putts from Paul Pereira on count back.

Bradmans Award:

The Bradman's award was taken out this week by Patrick McNeile.

Nearest the Pins:

4th: Leonie Snodgrass.

6th: Derek Hoare.

Ladies 7th: Annette Manton.

Men's 7th: Derek Hoare (in the hole).


Jeanette Miller took out this week's Accuracy award with what was perhaps her best ever drive on the 5th hole, the ball finishing close to the centre string line well down the fairway.

Next Week:

Next week's event is a Single Stableford game with registration in the downstairs sports bar area from 7.45am and a shotgun start at 8.30am. The Tuross Head veteran golf competition is held each Wednesday morning with a 8.30 am hit off time. Players need to be over 50 years of age and visitors are invited to join in a fun filled morning of golf and presentations.

Above: Today's winner Derek Hoare (left) being congratulated by Vets Captain Ian Miller Photo: Paul Pereira

#Tuross #Sports

COMMENTS : You can use a pen name or better yet use your real name, you must provide a valid email address (that does not get published) and your comment will be moderated prior to approval (or rejection if that is the determination of the moderator). Refer to our Terms and Conditions if you have any questions) 

Please note that from time to time comments are archived. If you are looking for a previous comment no longer visible please contact us. Last Archived 7th July 2019