top of page
Screenshot 2023-06-13 180949.png
  • Writer's pictureThe Beagle

Tuross Head Country Club veteran's golf Wednesday May 17

A good field of 58 players teed off under cool but sunny skies for this morning's Stableford event, the game also being the third and final round of the 2017 Elaine Jennings trophy for lady players.

Results on the day were as follows: 1st: Paul Pereira on 24 points, having scored 5 pars during the round. 2nd: Lyn Benger on 23 points. 3rd: Tim Starr, our eldest player in his nineties, on 21 points on count back. Ball or Chocolate: Errol Soden, Greg Thornton and Mike Birks on 21, Denis Benger on 20, Chris Wratten, Ron Hanlon, Terry Challender and Tony Crook on 19, David Williams, Leonie Snodgrass and Kathy Crossling on 18, followed by Ann Challender and Greg Smith on 17 points after a four way count back was required. The Bradman's award was won by one of our newer golfers,

Colin Morrison. Nearest the Pins: 4th: Kathy Crossling. 6th: Ian Miller. Ladies 7th: Leonie Snodgrass, in the hole for 2. Men's 7th: Derek Hoare. Allen Gannon won the Accuracy drive award on the 5th hole. Next week's event is a 2 Person Irish Team Stableford game with Registration in the downstairs sports bar area from 7.45am with a shotgun start at 8.30am. Event instructions will be available on the day. Results of the three round Elaine Jennings trophy competition that concluded today will be announced and the trophy presented following next week's game. Players are advised that following a vote at today's presentation there will be no change to the regular start time for the winter months this year.

Paul Pereira THCC veteran's stableford winner.

NOTE: Comments were TRIALED - in the end it failed as humans will be humans and it turned into a pile of merde; only contributed to by just a handful who did little to add to the conversation of the issue at hand. Anyone who would like to contribute an opinion are encouraged to send in a Letter to the Editor where it might be considered for publication

bottom of page