top of page
Screenshot 2023-06-13 180949.png
  • Writer's pictureThe Beagle

Regional and Rural radio listeners ignored by the new face of ABC



As reported The Inside Sleeve, The Daily Planet, The Rhythm Divine, The Live Set & RN Afternoons will now discontinue. Along with the cuts to these programs will come the closing down of ABC Short Wave as ABC management take the direction of providing a digital service. Across the country there have been loud protestations regarding the axing of what many consider Australian cultural icons and also loud protests at the continued snub that ABC metropolitan management have for regional and rural communities. Locally our Eurobodalla Mayor Liz Innes and Bega Valley Shire Mayor Kristy McBain have added their comments for the public record. From Mayor Liz Innes of Eurobodalla Shire Council: “It is disappointing to hear that ABC National Radio is considering axing Shortwave radio. For many of our remote families in Eurobodalla this must be a very frustrating situation to face given their limited access to local music programs, ABC news and emergency broadcasts. I hope that this decision is reviewed or a real alternative provided, and I will be watching this issue very closely.”

From Mayor Kristy McBain of Bega Valley Shire Council:


Above: letter reprinted with kind permission of Mayor Kristy McBain.

January 20th has seen an Australia wide day of protests. You can still contribute to the protests to help turn the decision around to close down what many consider the cultural embryo of Australian music. Here is what you can do to NOW, TODAY: PHONE: RN Listener enquiries: (02) 8333 2821 ABC Ultimo Office: (02) 8333 1500 (Ask to speak to Michael Mason, Deborah Leavitt, Judith Whelan or Chris Scaddan (titles below)) Minister for Communications / Minister Arts Mitch Fifield: (02) 6277 7111 EMAIL: Director of Radio: Mason.Michael@abc.net.au Manager, Ideas Network: Leavitt.Deborah@abc.net.au Head of Radio Music: Scaddan.Chris@abc.net.au Managing Director: Guthrie.Michelle@abc.net.au Head of Spoken Content: Whelan.Judith@abc.net.au ABC Advisory Council: abcac@your.abc.net.au General RN email: info_rn@your.abc.net.au ABC Board: board@your.abc.net.au Chair ABC Board: spigelman.james@abc.net.au Minister for Communications Minister Arts, Mitch Fifield Arts Advisor: minister@communications.gov.au Denise Ryan: Denise.Ryan@communications.gov.au Regional Comms Minister, Fiona Nash: senator.nash@aph.gov.au


NOTE: Comments were TRIALED - in the end it failed as humans will be humans and it turned into a pile of merde; only contributed to by just a handful who did little to add to the conversation of the issue at hand. Anyone who would like to contribute an opinion are encouraged to send in a Letter to the Editor where it might be considered for publication

buymeacoffee.png
bottom of page