spreads (6).gif

2016 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards announced

The winners of the 2016 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced today.

The winning and shortlisted authors have continued Australia’s rich literary tradition and should be enthusiastically congratulated for their contribution to the literary arts.

Prizes were awarded in six categories including fiction, poetry, non-fiction, Australian history, children’s and young adult literature.

The winning entries were selected from a shortlist of 30 exceptional books by some of Australia’s most well regarded authors. This year’s winners demonstrate the depth and diversity of Australian literature and scholarship.

Expert judging panels recommended the winners and shortlists from 425 entries across each of the categories, with the Prime Minister making the final decision.

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards serve as a significant demonstration of the Australian Government’s support for the literary arts.

The winners are:


The Life of Houses, Lisa Gorton (Giramondo)

The Natural Way of Things, Charlotte Wood (Allen & Unwin)


The Hazards, Sarah Holland-Batt (University of Queensland Press)


On Stalin's Team: The years of Living Dangerously in Soviet Politics, Sheila Fitzpatrick (Melbourne University Press)

Thea Astley: Inventing her own Weather, Karen Lamb (University of Queensland Press)


The Story of Australia's People, Geoffrey Blainey AC (Penguin)

Let My People Go: The Untold Story of Australia and the Soviet Jews 1959-89, Sam Lipski AM, co-author, and Suzanne D Rutland OAM, co-author (Hybrid Publishers)


Sister Heart, Sally Morgan (Fremantle Press)


A Single Stone, Meg McKinlay (Walker Books Australia)

Visit for more information on the winning books and the Prime Minister's Literary Awards. Media Release

#latest #Arts

COMMENTS : You can use a pen name or better yet use your real name, you must provide a valid email address (that does not get published) and your comment will be moderated prior to approval (or rejection if that is the determination of the moderator). Refer to our Terms and Conditions if you have any questions) 

Please note that from time to time comments are archived. If you are looking for a previous comment no longer visible please contact us. Last Archived 7th July 2019