top of page
Screenshot 2023-06-13 180949.png
  • Writer's pictureThe Beagle

Narooma Rotary shows ‘adaptability’

Narooma Rotary’s changeover at Narooma Golf Club last Thursday saw outgoing President Andrew Lawson reinstated for 2022-2023.

In reviewing the past year, Mr Lawson said “with everything the year threw at us, what impressed me was the adaptability of our Club”.

“I am particularly proud the Club still managed to achieve four major objectives for the year:

· fully develop the monthly Rotary Business Breakfasts with the business community

· establish the Narooma Prostate Cancer Support Group (PCSG)

· engage more with other community groups for the common good and

· spread Rotary’s message more to the southern parts of our district.”

Narooma Rotary provided over $22,000 from fundraising in the 2021/2022 year to local and international causes. Our Tertiary Scholarships also supported four university students in that time.

As President 2022-2023, Mr Lawson sees it as a year of review, reflection and revision for the Club, particularly appraising how it communicates with the next generation of Rotarians.

In representing the District 9705 Governor, Past District Governor Phil Armstrong pointed out 2022-2023 was an extraordinary year for Rotary being the first time a woman has been President of Rotary International - Jennifer Jones. It coincides with women also leading Rotary’s South Pacific Zone and District9705.

The Club recognised the efforts of two of its members with Paul Harris Fellowships (Rotary’s equivalent of the Australian Honours system) – Rod Walker and David McInnes. Mr Lawson presented Julie Hartley with the Club’s Rotarian of the Year Shield, with Mike Young runner-up. Secretary John Rungen’s contributions were also recognised.

Another special guest was Area Governor Adam de Totth.

Above: Narooma Rotary Club’s Board for 2022-2023 consists of Mike Young, left, Susanna Chung, President Andrew Lawson, Vice President Ange Ulrichsen, Lynn Hastings, Julie Hartley, Gero Mitchell and Laurelle Pacey.

Julie Hartley was awarded Club Rotarian of the Year by President Andrew Lawson.

Above: Rotarian Rod Walker was presented with his second Paul Harris Fellowship

Above: Rotarian David McInnes was presented with a Paul Harris Fellowship


NOTE: Comments were TRIALED - in the end it failed as humans will be humans and it turned into a pile of merde; only contributed to by just a handful who did little to add to the conversation of the issue at hand. Anyone who would like to contribute an opinion are encouraged to send in a Letter to the Editor where it might be considered for publication

bottom of page