top of page
Screenshot 2023-06-13 180949.png
  • Writer's pictureThe Beagle

Broulee Runners January 12th 2022

We have come a long way since 7 February 2007 and have survived Bush Fires, Floods and Lockdowns. Tonight, marks the 739th run since the event began. David Connaughton started 27 February 2008 and he has participated in 573 of these events. However, tonight, he is laid low as a Covid close contact. Runners going past his place could see him gazing sorrowfully out the window.

There were 80 starters this evening and the quality was certainly on show with excellent times in all three events. In the 2 kilometres the top five were under 8 minutes and in the 3.5 kilometres Cameron Lunn, after a long absence, recorded his best time of 16.39. In the 5-kilometres the top five were under 20 minutes.

In the 2-kilometres PBs were recorded by Eddie Olah, William Smith, Karen Harding-Smith, Alby Clark, Eli and Scott Melgaard, and Lilly Cecere. In the 3.5-Kilometres besides Cameron Lunn another runner named Niamh Scahill recorded a PB. In the 5-kilometres Andrew Olah and Yvonne Carter recorded personal best times.

Because we could not have Dave we were lucky to have a good substitute with the new Mayor of the Eurobodalla shire, Matt Hatcher, turn up to record his 3rd run with the group.

Above: The start line!

2 Kilometres

Mollie Kennedy 8.12 Keira Atkin 8.19 Samson Kennedy 8.44 Mike Atkin 8.48 Eddie Olah 8.57 Emily Huynh 9.46 Poppy Melgaard 10.00 Isaac Roberts 10.30 William Smith 10.33 Karen Harding-Smith 10.34 Alby Clark 10.41 Ciara Scahill 10.51 Mia Atkin 10.55 Gabe Dunstan 10.59 Isabelle Dunstan 11.25 Paul Cecere 11.27 Eli Melgaard 11.34 Scott Melgaard 11.35 Nicole Minifie 11.35 Violet Kerr 12.05 Emma Kennedy 12.15 Hattie Clark 13.01 Nash Clark 13.02 James Thomas 13.26 William Thomas 13.26 Lucas Dezoete 14.03 Lilly Cecere 14.08 Sabrina Dezoete 14.22 David McCann 16.20 Bernie Lambert 19.11 Rhett Guthrie 19.19 Michael Lambert 19.19 Richard Fisher 19.28

3.5 Kilometres

Cameron Lunn 16.39 Emily Bishop 17.02 Mark Kennedy 17.56 Bradley Lunn 20.08 Jack Thomas 20.11 Annabel Thomas 20.12 Niamh Scahill 20.19 Aislinn Scahill 21.00 Andrew Greenway 21.37 Sandra Lunn 22.00 Justine Beaumont 24.02 Alanna Grant 32.03

5 Kilometres

Craig Rangott 17.38 Daniel Beby 17.59 Matt Edenborough 18.53 Matt Johnsen 19.20 David Bain 19.35 Andrew Olah 20.06 Gracie Bishop 21.15 Thach Huynh 21.21 Gabriel Kennedy 21.31 Matt Lambert 21.38 Dylan Van Der Meulen 22.36 Andrew Grant 23.54 Andrew McPherson 23.57 Yvonne Carter 24.01 Katie Slater 24.42 Zoe Whymark 24.48 John Scahill 25.54 Maree Cadman 26.57 Charlie Cecere 29.04 Hugo Dunstan 29.17 Martha Cadman-Wehner 31.20 Jenny Taylor 31.41 Caroline Milton 32.00 Jack Cecere 32.19 Matt Hatcher 32.21 Kate Cecere 32.22 Karen Schilling 32.36 Gill Stapleton 32.37 Ren Le Fevre 32.37 Eliza Milenkovic 32.37 Simon Wall 34.51 Lisa Robbins 37.31 Olivia Dezoete 45.24 David Dezoete 45.33 Robyn Kennedy 48.23

NOTE: Comments were TRIALED - in the end it failed as humans will be humans and it turned into a pile of merde; only contributed to by just a handful who did little to add to the conversation of the issue at hand. Anyone who would like to contribute an opinion are encouraged to send in a Letter to the Editor where it might be considered for publication

bottom of page