top of page
Screenshot 2023-06-13 180949.png
  • Writer's pictureThe Beagle

Broulee Runners February 9th 2022

15 years ago, Miles and Jacinta Craighead, Meg MacCallum, Rev Father John Woods, Sharee and Peter Jackson, Liza Martini and Mike Kennedy set off for the first Broulee Run. Robyn Kennedy was there, of course, keeping the records. It was a struggle initially and it wasn’t till 14 March 2007 that we had a respectable number of 11 starters, one of whom was Annie Johnsen. One Christmas, visitors swelled the numbers and the record of 120 starters competed. The Tomakin Sports and Social Club assisted in purchasing a Seiko Multi Timer to manage the time recording and Judy and Damien Kennedy sponsored the Broulee Runners Shirts. These are given to anyone reaching 30 runs and so far, 186 people wear the shirt with pride.

We welcomed Amelia Wilks, Kehlie Cowan and Amy Coulton to their first run with the group. Personal best times in the 2-kilometres were recorded by Kira Pendlebury, Archie Gilligan, and Violet Kerr.

Daniel Lloyd-Jones competed in the Batemans Bay triathlon and was first in the Sprint Solo event. In the same race Scott Melgaard come 12th another regular runner Matt Edenborough managed 19th place.

The Broulee run must be good training as Jenny Taylor won the 2 kilometres beach run in a recent surf carnival. She also won a number of medals in the Broulee/Moruya Surf Carnival last weekend.

Broulee Runners Deb Connaughton, Mike Kennedy and Robyn Kennedy

2 Kilometres

Mitchell Beby 7.36 Keira Atkin 7.58 Kira Pendlebury 8.26 Mike Atkin 8.48 Mia Atkin 10.41 Amelia Wilks 10.44 Kehlie Cowan 10.45 Archie Gilligan 11.13 Poppy Melgaard 11.34 Laura Lopresti 11.38 Violet Kerr 11.44 Eli Melgaard 14.22 Charley Proksch 15.41 Rhett Guthrie 19.49 Bernie Lambert 19.50 Michael Lambert 19.53 Leo Proksch 20.21 Jo Pollock 20.23 Ashlee Beby 21.01 Michelle Beby 21.42

3.5 Kilometres

Paul Searson 23.00 Georgia Finlay 26.57 Anna Hutchinson 27.27 Lisa Robbins 27.57 Tracy Denning 27.58 David McCann 30.12

5 Kilometres

Daniel Beby 18.38 Scott Melgaard 21.25. Matt Lambert 21.56 Zoe Whymark 23.49 Amy Coulton 24.21 Dave Connaughton 25.04 Deb Connaughton 28.13 Jenny Taylor 30.30 Beatrice O’Donovan 30.48 Damien O’Donovan 30.50 Simon Wall 31.31 Lu Lu Henley 34.32 John Lightfoot 41.01 Robyn Kennedy 35.01

NOTE: Comments were TRIALED - in the end it failed as humans will be humans and it turned into a pile of merde; only contributed to by just a handful who did little to add to the conversation of the issue at hand. Anyone who would like to contribute an opinion are encouraged to send in a Letter to the Editor where it might be considered for publication

bottom of page