top of page
Screenshot 2023-06-13 180949.png
  • Writer's pictureThe Beagle

Bega: Everyone welcome to Australia Day celebrations

Bega Valley Shire Council invites the shire’s residents to its COVID Safe Australia Day celebrations on Wednesday 26 January with a free breakfast at 7.30am in Bega’s Littleton Gardens.

At 8.30am, they will recognise and celebrate the achievements and community contributions of the 2022 Citizens of the Year and Australia Day Award winners.

“It gives me great pleasure to announce that our 2022 Citizen of the Year is John Cullen, our Senior Citizen of the Year is Clare McMahon and our Young Citizen of the Year is Jessica Duthie,” Bega Valley Shire Mayor Russell Fitzpatrick said.

“This year we are also awarding Bega Valley Medallions to 14 outstanding individuals who have served the community over a number of years: David Allen, Robin Wykes, Amanda Shane, Donna Flood, Ruth Gilmour, Bill Foxwell, Mark Smith, John Stylianou, Bill Mead, Greg Holland, Ron Cole, Christine Welsh, Carolyn McColl and Robert Smith.

“Following our awards, we will welcome our latest new Australians at an official Australian Citizenship Ceremony and entertainment throughout the morning will feature Felicity Dowd.”

Mayor Fitzpatrick said Australia Day was the time to reflect on our history, respect the stories of others and celebrate our nation, its achievements and most of all, its people.

“Two years on from the Black Summer bushfires and amid the pandemic, we can reflect on how far we have come and know, as a united and resilient community, we will continue to rebuild, grow and enrich this unique part of the world we call home,” he said.

“It’s time to look to the future and build on our business recovery, tourism opportunities, environmental advancement, cultural respect and social connections.

“In line with the Australia Day theme of respect, reflect and celebrate, we’re all part of the story and we all have a role to play in the successful development of the shire.”

As this is a COVIDSafe event, Service NSW QR check-in is required and COVID Marshalls will be on hand to assist people. Please do not attend if you feel unwell.

2022 Citizen of the Year is John Cullen


NOTE: Comments were TRIALED - in the end it failed as humans will be humans and it turned into a pile of merde; only contributed to by just a handful who did little to add to the conversation of the issue at hand. Anyone who would like to contribute an opinion are encouraged to send in a Letter to the Editor where it might be considered for publication

bottom of page